Choosing a smart dog door with microchip access means deciding what kind of identification and control you actually need. My strongest small-pet pick is the Smart Cat Door with RFID Electronic Pet Door, which supports microchip or collar-sensor access and includes four lock modes. For large dogs, I’d compare the two High Tech Pet Power Pet models: one emphasizes app-controlled wall installation and a steel deadbolt, while the other adds scheduling and real-time notifications.
Turn your wind-down time into listening time
- Thousands of audiobooks, podcasts and originals
- Listen on your phone, tablet or Echo — also offline
- Cancel anytime
There is a meaningful distinction behind those options: the RFID model is described as reading a pet’s microchip or its supplied collar sensor, whereas both Power Pet doors require a compatible genuine MS-5 ultrasonic collar. That difference can determine whether a door works with your pet as-is or requires a dedicated accessory. I’ve ranked these picks by identification fit, access control, stated pet-size suitability, and the practical demands of installation and power—not by treating their smart features as interchangeable.
Key Takeaways
- The Smart Cat Door is the only listed option described as supporting a pet microchip as well as a collar sensor; confirm your chip’s compatibility before buying.
- Its 40-pound limit and 7.48-by-9.45-inch cutout make it the most natural fit for cats and smaller dogs, not large breeds.
- Both Power Pet options rely on a genuine High Tech Pet MS-5 ultrasonic collar rather than the RFID identification described for the Smart Cat Door.
- The wall-mount Power Pet listing highlights directional sensing, quiet operation, a weatherproof panel, and a steel deadbolt.
- The other Power Pet model is the clearest choice for large-dog households that want schedules and real-time app notifications, but it has more installation and collar constraints.
| Smart Cat Door with RFID Electronic Pet Door | ![]() | Best Overall for Microchip-Style Access | Cutout size: 190 × 240 mm (7.48 × 9.45 in) | Door thickness: 12–50 mm | Pet weight limit: Up to 18 kg (40 lb) | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Power Pet Smart Automatic Electronic Pet Door – Wall Mount, Large, WiFi Enabled, App Controlled | ![]() | Best Wall-Mount Pick for Large Pets | Mounting: Wall mount | Size: Large | Access identification: Genuine High Tech Pet MS-5 collar/transmitter | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Power Pet WiFi Automatic Electronic Pet Door by High Tech Pet – Pet Operated Dog Door, App Control, 24/7 Scheduling, Secure, Air Tight, for Large Dogs (30–100 lbs.) | ![]() | Best for Large Dogs and App Scheduling | Pet size: Large dogs, 30–100 lb | Access identification: Genuine High Tech Pet MS-5 ultrasonic collar | Controls: App control and 24/7 scheduling | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| smart dog doors with microchip access | Access modes | Power | Mounting | Access identification |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Smart Cat Door with RFID Elect | Locked, inside only, both ways open, outside only | 4 AA batteries, not included | — | — |
| Power Pet Smart Automatic Elec | In only, out only, both, locked | AC or optional rechargeable battery | Wall mount | Genuine High Tech Pet MS-5 collar/transmitter |
| Power Pet WiFi Automatic Elect | — | — | Door or wall | Genuine High Tech Pet MS-5 ultrasonic collar |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Smart Cat Door with RFID Electronic Pet Door
This is my leading pick for a buyer whose priority is pet-specific access without requiring a large-dog installation. The product description says its RFID system can recognize a pet’s unique collar sensor or microchip, and it includes two sensor keys for households with more than one pet. Because the listing does not specify supported chip standards, I’d confirm that your pet’s implanted chip is compatible before relying on chip-only entry; the supplied collar keys provide an alternative stated access method.
The four lock settings—locked, inside only, both ways open, and outside only—give more everyday control than a simple open-or-closed flap. That makes it easier to manage outdoor access during particular parts of the day or keep animals indoors while still letting them return. Compared with the Power Pet models, this door is more directly aligned with the requested microchip-access angle, but it does not offer the same clearly listed app scheduling and real-time alerts.
Fit is the main constraint. The 40-pound limit and compact cutout suit cats and smaller dogs, while the large Power Pet options are a better match for big breeds. Its stated 12-to-50-mm door-thickness range helps with common installations, and a removable panel supports cleaning. I’d also account for the four AA batteries, which are not included, and the need for an optional extension tunnel if the mounting surface exceeds 50 mm. For a larger dog or a buyer who wants app-based monitoring, I would choose one of the Power Pet models instead.
Pros:- Described as accepting a pet’s unique microchip or collar sensor, subject to compatibility confirmation.
- Four lock modes allow control over entry and exit.
- Includes two collar sensor keys for multi-pet households.
- Fits doors 12–50 mm thick and is rated for pets up to 40 pounds.
Cons:- Four AA batteries are required and are not included.
- A thicker mounting surface needs an optional extension tunnel.
- The listing does not identify supported microchip standards or offer app features.
Best for: Households with cats or smaller dogs that want RFID or potentially compatible microchip access, several lock modes, and a straightforward battery-powered setup.
Not ideal for: Owners of dogs over 40 pounds, buyers who need documented compatibility with a specific implanted chip standard, or anyone seeking app schedules and real-time notifications.
- Cutout size:190 × 240 mm (7.48 × 9.45 in)
- Door thickness:12–50 mm
- Pet weight limit:Up to 18 kg (40 lb)
- Supported pets:Cats, small dogs, and medium dogs
- Access modes:Locked, inside only, both ways open, outside only
- Power:4 AA batteries, not included
- Stated battery life:Up to 12 months
- Included sensor keys:2 collar sensor keys
Our verdict“I’d choose this for its stated RFID and microchip access and defined small-pet fit, provided your pet’s chip is compatible and you do not need app controls.”
Power Pet Smart Automatic Electronic Pet Door – Wall Mount, Large, WiFi Enabled, App Controlled
For a large-pet household that values secure mechanical closure, this wall-mount Power Pet model stands out for its steel deadbolt, directional ultrasonic sensing, and weather-resistant panel. The sensing is designed to respond to an approaching pet rather than nearby movement in general, which can help reduce unwanted openings. Its access modes—inside only, outside only, both ways, and locked—also give owners a useful range of control.
The tradeoff is that its access system is not described as reading an implanted microchip. The listing specifies a water-resistant MS-5 collar and says it works only with genuine High Tech Pet transmitters. Compared with the Smart Cat Door, this means a buyer may need to outfit the pet with the proprietary collar rather than rely on an existing chip. Compared with the other Power Pet model, the standout details here are wall mounting, directional sensing, and quiet, weatherproof operation; the provided description does not specify scheduling or real-time app alerts.
Power and installation deserve attention before purchase. The door can run on AC or an optional rechargeable battery, so backup power is not included as a standard feature in the supplied information. DIY installation is described as friendly, but wall mounting still calls for a suitable opening and careful planning. I’d favor this over the smaller RFID model for a large dog and a wall installation, but I would skip it if microchip-only identification is a firm requirement or if you want a fully specified smart schedule feature.
Pros:- Steel deadbolt and anti-pinch safety system add physical security and safer operation.
- Directional ultrasonic sensing is intended to reduce false triggers.
- Weatherproof, hermetically sealed panel and quiet operation suit exterior access.
- Offers four access modes and AC power with an optional rechargeable battery.
Cons:- Requires a genuine High Tech Pet MS-5 collar or transmitter, not the microchip access specified for the RFID door.
- An AC adapter or optional battery is needed for power; backup battery availability is not included as standard in the supplied details.
- The provided listing details do not spell out scheduling or real-time notifications.
Best for: Owners of larger pets who want a wall-mounted electronic door with a steel deadbolt, directional sensing, and weather-resistant construction.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need an implanted-microchip reader, do not want to use a genuine MS-5 collar, or require included backup power and clearly stated scheduling functions.
- Mounting:Wall mount
- Size:Large
- Access identification:Genuine High Tech Pet MS-5 collar/transmitter
- Lock:Steel deadbolt
- Access modes:In only, out only, both, locked
- Sensing:Directional ultrasonic sensing
- Power:AC or optional rechargeable battery
- Frame material:ABS
Our verdict“I’d pick this Power Pet model for a large pet and wall installation when deadbolt security and weather sealing matter more than implanted-microchip compatibility.”
Power Pet WiFi Automatic Electronic Pet Door by High Tech Pet – Pet Operated Dog Door, App Control, 24/7 Scheduling, Secure, Air Tight, for Large Dogs (30–100 lbs.)
This is the most feature-forward choice for an owner who wants to manage a large dog’s access around a household schedule. Its listed app control, real-time notifications, and 24/7 scheduling provide more explicit remote oversight than the wall-mount Power Pet listing. Four-way access control and a steel deadbolt add security, while automatic safety retraction is intended to reduce the risk of the moving panel closing on a pet.
Its largest drawback under this roundup’s specific brief is identification: the door requires a genuine High Tech Pet MS-5 ultrasonic collar. That is a different access approach from the Smart Cat Door’s stated RFID or microchip recognition. The collar requirement also makes it a narrower fit for buyers who want an installed chip to serve as the pet’s credential. Compared with the wall-mount Power Pet, this model has the clearest stated scheduling and notification functions; the wall-mount listing, by contrast, calls out directional sensing and weatherproof, quiet operation.
The product is aimed at dogs weighing 30–100 pounds, so it is not a flexible all-pet choice. It supports door or wall mounting, but the stated maximum compatible thickness is only 0.5 inches, and the listing warns that installation can be complex for some owners. The airtight seal is a useful feature for limiting drafts, though I’d verify the exact opening and mounting requirements before cutting into a door or wall. Choose it for app-managed routines and a large dog; choose the RFID model for a smaller pet and chip-oriented access, or the other Power Pet option if wall-mount construction and directional sensing are the priority.
Pros:- App control, real-time notifications, and 24/7 scheduling support remote management.
- Four-way access control and a steel deadbolt provide several ways to restrict movement.
- Airtight sealing is intended to reduce drafts and energy loss.
- Automatic safety retraction is listed as a safety feature.
Cons:- Requires a genuine High Tech Pet MS-5 ultrasonic collar rather than the microchip access described for the RFID model.
- Designed for large dogs weighing 30–100 pounds, limiting its suitability for smaller pets.
- Installation may be complex, and the listed maximum compatible thickness is 0.5 inches.
Best for: Owners of 30–100-pound dogs who want app-based access management, real-time alerts, and a schedule for when the door may operate.
Not ideal for: Small-pet households, buyers who require implanted-microchip identification, or anyone who cannot accommodate the genuine MS-5 collar and installation limits.
- Pet size:Large dogs, 30–100 lb
- Access identification:Genuine High Tech Pet MS-5 ultrasonic collar
- Controls:App control and 24/7 scheduling
- Notifications:Real-time notifications
- Access control:Four-way control with steel deadbolt
- Mounting:Door or wall
- Maximum compatible thickness:0.5 in
- Panel features:Airtight sealing and automatic safety retraction
Our verdict“I’d choose this when a large dog’s routine calls for app schedules and notifications, but not when microchip-only access is non-negotiable.”

How We Picked
I compared these three doors around the needs implied by microchip-controlled access: how a pet is identified, how owners can restrict entry and exit, what size of animal each model suits, and what the installation and power details mean at home. I gave extra weight to clear compatibility information. A door described as reading a microchip is not automatically equivalent to one that opens for a proprietary ultrasonic collar, even if both are marketed as electronic or smart pet doors.
I also considered the practical differences between the listings: specified dimensions and weight limits, lock modes, app functions, weather sealing, safety features, and power requirements. The first product ranks highest for buyers seeking chip or RFID-style access and a defined small-to-medium pet fit. The two High Tech Pet models follow because they offer stronger app-oriented capabilities for larger pets, but the provided descriptions specify collar-based operation rather than microchip reading. I have not inferred unlisted features, such as exact chip standards or app functions for the wall-mount model, and buyers should verify those details with the manufacturer before committing.
| smart dog doors with microchip access | Access modes | Mounting | Access identification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Smart Cat Door with RFID Elect | Locked, inside only, both ways open, outside only | — | — |
| Power Pet Smart Automatic Elec | In only, out only, both, locked | Wall mount | Genuine High Tech Pet MS-5 collar/transmitter |
| Power Pet WiFi Automatic Elect | — | Door or wall | Genuine High Tech Pet MS-5 ultrasonic collar |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Smart Dog Doors With Microchip Access
I’d start by matching the access method to the pet and the opening, then weigh smart controls against installation and upkeep. The word “smart” can describe very different systems across these three options.Microchip access and collar access are not the same
The Smart Cat Door is the only product here described as reading a pet’s microchip or collar sensor. Its listing does not name compatible chip standards, so check compatibility with the manufacturer rather than assuming every implanted chip will work. It also includes two sensor keys, giving owners a stated collar-based fallback. Both Power Pet models specify a genuine MS-5 ultrasonic collar; they should not be treated as microchip readers just because they provide electronic or app-based access. If your deciding requirement is opening the flap for your pet’s existing implanted chip, this distinction should carry more weight than WiFi features.
Match the opening to your dog and mounting surface
Size suitability can quickly narrow the list. The RFID door has a 40-pound limit and a stated cutout of 190 by 240 mm, making it the compact option. The WiFi Power Pet is explicitly intended for dogs from 30 to 100 pounds, while the other Power Pet is labeled large but does not provide a weight range in the supplied details. Before cutting, compare the product’s actual flap and cutout dimensions with your pet’s shoulder width and height; a weight label alone cannot tell you whether the opening will be comfortable. Also check thickness: the RFID model fits 12–50 mm doors, while the WiFi model lists a 0.5-inch maximum compatible thickness. The wall-mount model’s installation needs should be checked with its full manufacturer instructions.
Choose controls for the household’s routine
All three offer ways to restrict access, but the level of remote management differs. The RFID door provides four physical lock modes, enough for common needs such as keeping a pet indoors or blocking all movement. The wall-mount Power Pet also lists four access modes and emphasizes directional sensing, which is intended to reduce nearby-animal triggers. The WiFi Power Pet is the clearest fit for owners who want to set a schedule and receive alerts. Decide whether you need to change access from a phone or simply set a lock mode at the door; paying attention to that difference prevents app features from overshadowing a simpler solution that better fits your pet.
Plan for power, weather, and installation
The RFID door uses four AA batteries, which are not included, and claims up to 12 months of battery life; thicker installations may need an extension tunnel. The wall-mount Power Pet can use AC or an optional rechargeable battery, so check what power equipment is supplied and what backup arrangement you want. The WiFi Power Pet’s supplied details do not state a power method, so confirm it before purchase. For an exterior opening, compare sealing and construction: the wall-mount product describes a weatherproof, hermetically sealed panel, while the WiFi product highlights airtight sealing. Both wall or door cuts can demand accurate measuring, and the WiFi listing notes that installation may be complex for some owners. Get the manufacturer’s template and instructions before starting.
Prioritize security and pet safety
A pet door has to balance access with keeping unwanted animals and weather outside. The RFID model’s authorized-pet identification and four lock settings address basic access control. The wall-mount Power Pet adds a steel deadbolt and anti-pinch system, while the WiFi Power Pet lists a steel deadbolt and automatic safety retraction. These features describe different protections; neither replaces careful installation or routine checks that the panel closes properly. If your home has frequent wind-driven rain, drafts, or nearby animals, give sealing and the locking mechanism more weight. If your main concern is managing a pet’s hours outside, scheduling and notifications may matter more than a stronger emphasis on weatherproof construction.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which of these smart dog doors reads an implanted microchip?
The Smart Cat Door is the only option in this comparison described as reading a pet’s unique microchip as well as a collar sensor. Its listing does not name compatible microchip standards, so I’d verify that your pet’s chip is supported before purchasing. Both Power Pet doors specify access through a genuine High Tech Pet MS-5 ultrasonic collar instead.
Can I use a Power Pet door without its MS-5 collar?
The supplied product details say both Power Pet models require a genuine High Tech Pet MS-5 collar or transmitter for pet-operated access. That makes them a different proposition from the RFID model, which includes two collar sensor keys and is also described as supporting microchip access. Confirm current accessory and compatibility requirements with the manufacturer before ordering.
Which option suits a large dog best?
The WiFi Power Pet is the most clearly specified for large dogs, with a stated range of 30–100 pounds and app schedules and notifications. The wall-mount Power Pet is also labeled large and highlights a steel deadbolt and directional sensing, but its supplied details do not give a weight range. The RFID model is rated for pets up to 40 pounds, so it is not the first choice for a larger breed.
Do these doors all provide app control?
No. The WiFi Power Pet explicitly lists app control, 24/7 scheduling, and real-time notifications. The wall-mount Power Pet is described as WiFi enabled and app controlled, though the provided details do not spell out particular scheduling or notification functions. The Smart Cat Door lists four lock modes but no app control. Check the manufacturer’s current app capabilities if remote management is central to your decision.
What should I check before installing one?
Measure your pet and proposed opening, then compare those measurements with the manufacturer’s cutout template and mounting limits. The RFID door lists a 12–50 mm door-thickness range and a 190-by-240 mm cutout; the WiFi Power Pet lists a maximum compatible thickness of 0.5 inches and notes that installation can be complex. For wall mounting or thicker doors, confirm the required tunnel, power source, clearances, and installation steps before cutting.
Conclusion
My recommendation depends on what “microchip access” means in your household. For a cat or smaller dog, the Smart Cat Door with RFID Electronic Pet Door is the most directly aligned choice, as long as your chip is compatible or you are comfortable using its included sensor keys. For a large dog and a wall installation, I’d look at the wall-mount Power Pet when directional sensing, a steel deadbolt, and weather protection lead your priorities. If schedules and phone alerts matter most for a 30–100-pound dog, the WiFi Power Pet is the stronger app-focused fit. I would not choose either Power Pet model on the assumption that it reads an implanted chip: both rely on the specified MS-5 collar system.
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.



